Carroll College Celebrates 109th Commencement

Tuesday, May 14, 2019

HELENA, MONT. - On Saturday, May 11, 2019, Carroll College conferred degrees on 315 graduates, including its first master’s level graduates, during its 109th commencement ceremony held in the Carroll College PE Center. The ceremony included a number of awards and honors for students, alumni, and faculty. See the commencement ceremony program

Associate Professor of Nursing and Professor Emerita Ms. Donna Greenwood provided remarks during the ceremony. Dr. Greenwood was the recipient of the 2014 Outstanding Teaching Award.

The class of 2019 senior speaker was Conor Coutts from Enumclaw, Washington. Coutts graduated with a major in political science and minors in philosophy and theology. During his four years at Carroll, he was an active member of the Talking Saints speech and debate team and his was very involved in the Helena Catholic community. Coutts plans to live and work in Helena following graduation.

The Michael Murphy Award for Outstanding Collegiate Citizenship was presented to Katherine “Katie” Buckner. Buckner from Bozeman, Mont., majored in civil engineering with an environmental emphasis. At Carroll, she demonstrated the servant leadership model with a strong work ethic and a compassion for helping others. She led Carroll’s Engineers Without Borders team in Uganda for three years, served as Carroll’s Catholic Relief Services ambassador in Washington, D.C., was as a peer minister with Campus Ministry, and served as a Gold Team member with the Admissions Office for three years.

The college’s Bishop Gilmore Memorial Award for Outstanding Scholarship, awarded to seniors who have attained the highest grade-point average after four years at Carroll, was awarded to three graduates: Madison Robischon of Townsend, Mont., Jenna Starke of Helena, Mont., and Grace Wilkins of Great Falls, Mont.

Several faculty and staff awards were also conferred. The Outstanding Teaching Award recipient was Dr. Ryan Hallows, associate professor of Spanish, who fosters cooperation and peer learning within his classes, and models respectful engagement with potentially divisive issues. The Distinguished Scholar Award was awarded to Dr. Eric Meyer, assistant professor of theology, for his scholarly pursuits, published works and attainment of an endowed professorship. The Excellence in Service Award was awarded to Laurie Rodriguez, Interim Director of Admission, for her dedication to the institution through her tireless work ethic and compassion for others.

Carroll College also announced that three retiring faculty members, Associate Professor of Nursing Kim Garrison, Associate Professor of Nursing Donna Greenwood and Professor of Fine Arts Ralph Esposito have been conferred the title of professor emerita and emeritus for having served the college long and with distinction.