Talking Saints Receive Recognition for 2015-2016 Season

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

Eleven members of the Carroll College Talking Saints forensics team were honored with Northwest Forensics All-Conference recognition for the 2015-2016 season during the annual Northwest Forensics Conference in Nampa, Idaho, on September 10, 2016.

Three Carroll team members received top awards. Class of 2016 graduated senior Hanna Hillier of Jerome, Idaho, was named to the first team Northwest Forensics All-Conference team and was one of three regional students honored as Best in the Northwest in interpretation events. Graduated seniors Mark Schmutzler of Helena and Ryden Meyer of Portland, Oregon, were named Best of the Northwest in BP/World Debate, one of only two teams so honored. Jake MacDuff, a junior from Seattle, was named Second Team, All Conference.

Eight additional Carroll team members received Honorable Mention All-Conference recognition: graduated senior Nick Fuller of Seattle, sophomores Haley Meredith of Jerome, Idaho, Frank Stumbo of Shelly, Idaho, Alex Thielman of Spokane, Washington, Kayla McNichol of Vancouver, Washington, and Amber Griffin of Idaho Falls, Idaho, as well as junior Luke Kendall of Stevensville, Montana.

The Talking Saints season began in Billings on September 13 where the 12 first-year team members competed in the Rimrock Classic at Rocky Mountain College. Kennedy Bahm of Missoula was named second best speaker. Bahm and partner Sofia Minudri of Moscow, Idaho, placed fifth among 20 teams from four states.

Two Carroll teams were selected to participate in the Rimrock Showcase debate: first-years Kelsie Watkins of Snohomish, Washington, and Peri Dropping of Redmond, Washington, were joined by juniors Becca Poliquin of Hamilton, Montana, and Tori Hill of Sidney, Montana. Hill and Poliquin were selected to judge the final championship round of the tournament, won by Denver University over Wheaton College of Chicago.

The Talking Saints season hits full swing in October with tournaments in Denver, Colorado Springs and Calgary, Alberta.