Dr. Jennifer Glowienka

Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs & Dean of the College | Academic Affairs
Get In Touch
Portrait of Dr. Jennifer Glowienka


Jennifer Glowienka, Ph.D., is the Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the College. In this position, she oversees all matters pertaining to the academic programs and faculty of the college. The appointment to this office is made by the President of Carroll College after consultation with the Board of Trustees. The Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs serves as the chief executive officer of Carroll College in the absence of the President and by delegation of the President. Dr. Glowienka oversees the college’s academic departments, its personnel, new program development, academic strategic planning, academic policies, budget requests, grants management, and endowments. She is a member of the President’s executive leadership team, serves as the staff liaison for the Board of Trustees Academic Affairs Committee, and serves on several faculty and college committees.

Dr. Glowienka received her B.S. in biology from Boise State University, her Ph.D. in evolutionary botany from the University of Colorado at Boulder, and has been a professor of biology at Carroll since 2003. She served as chair of the Department of Life and Environmental Sciences from 2012–2018 and was named the James J. Manion Endowed Chair in the Biological Sciences in 2018. Prior to her appointment as Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs, Dr. Glowienka served two years as Carroll’s Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs..

Dr. Glowienka has been an innovative leader at Carroll and her accomplishments include working on over a dozen successful grants totaling over $1.5 million, shaping the institution by serving on many critical committees, acting as Carroll’s Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities Accreditation Liaison Officer, and providing research opportunities to numerous undergraduate students. She received Carroll College's Distinguished Scholar Award in 2008.