Carroll College, Helena Montana

Carroll Centennial Home

Carroll College's Centennial Celebration

Kicking off at Commencement 2009 and wrapping up at Commencement 2010, alumni, students, faculty, staff, retirees and friend of Carroll helped celebrate our 100th Birthday. 

Check out Gala Photos and read about Centennial happenings.

A Brief History of Carroll College

In 1909, Bishop John P. Carroll, second bishop of Helena, established Carroll College, which was originally christened Mount St. Charles College. In 1932, the college was renamed in honor of its founder. A Catholic, diocesan, liberal arts college in the ecumenical tradition of the Second Vatican Council, Carroll College prepares its students for successful careers and graduate school while encouraging the expansion of their cultural, social and spiritual awareness. With an enrollment of 1,500, an average class size of 20 and a student-to-faculty ratio of 13 to 1, Carroll offers each student personalized attention from dedicated faculty and staff who are committed to putting students first. Professors teach all classes at Carroll. The college offers 40 majors.

Carroll's success as a training ground for pre-med students is well-recognized. Seventy percent of Carroll students applying to medical school are accepted, and Carroll students applying to dental school enjoy a 100 percent acceptance rate. The college's civil engineering program, begun in 1996, has significantly expanded with the addition of the Civil Engineering Laboratory building in 2003, and the program's graduates have a 100 percent success rate in graduate school admissions and job placement in their fields. The Carroll Nursing Department has experienced significant growth with the 2004 renovation of its laboratory and training facilities into a working simulated emergency room, which expanded the program by 50 percent. Ninety percent of Carroll nursing graduates pass their professional examinations on the first try.

For almost 100 years, Carroll has carried on its exceptional faith-based teaching of academics in the Catholic tradition with a constant emphasis on ethics, social justice and democracy. 

Order your copy of Centennial History Book

Presidents of Carroll

Very Rev. Stephen J. Sullivan: 1910-1912
Very Rev. John L. McMullen: 1912-1917
Very Rev. Peter F. MacDonald:1917-1919
Very Rev. John J. Tracy: 1919-1920
Monsignor Norbert C. Hoff:1920-1932
Monsignor Emmet J. Riley:1932-1951
Monsignor R. Vincent Kavanagh: 1951-1957
Archbishop Raymond G. Hunthausen:1957-1962
Monsignor Anthony M. Brown: 1962-1969
Monsignor Joseph D. Harrington: 1969-1974
Dr. Francis J. Kerins: 1974-1989
Dr. Matthew J. Quinn: 1989-2000
Very Rev. Stephen C. Rowan: 2000-2001
Dr. Thomas J. Trebon: 2001-2011
Dr. Thomas M. Evans: 2012-Present

Past and Present Carroll College Presidents

Pictured left to right: Monsignor Joseph Harrington, Dr. Frank Kerins, Dr. Matt Quinn, and Dr. Tom Trebon

Bold Minds & Blessed Hands


Library Brick Sofa

Centennial Commencement DVD

Centennial Commencement DVD for 2010 is available by emailing Helena Civic Television - . The cost is $20 plus $3 postage.

Your request can also be mailed with a check to: Helena Civic Television, 1015 Poplar St., Helena, MT 50601