String Ensemble: JS Bach's Coffee House

String Ensemble Spring Concert graphic
Sunday, May 2, 2021 - 2:00pm to 4:30pm

The Carroll College String Ensemble, along with director Linda Meuret, presents the "The Coffee Cantata" by JS Bach, at the 1889 Coffee House on Sunday, May 2. There will be two concert performances: 2:00 p.m. and 3:30 p.m.

The comic opera will be presented in the western setting of Montana in 1889, which is the year of its admission as a state into the Union.

This collaboration features the Carroll College String Ensemble, Sarah Whitlatch (soprano), Zeb Antonioli (tenor), and Jay Bahny (bass). The ensemble also welcomes special guest cellist Raina Hollenbaug.

Students! Take a break from studying for finals, grab some friends, and come on over to the 1889 Coffee House!

About the Coffee Cantana

The Coffee Cantata is about a young vivacious woman named Lizzie who loves coffee. Her killjoy, grumpy father is, of course, dead set against his vivacious daughter having any kind of caffeinated fun and considered it a vice. So, he tries to ban her from the drink. As a last resort, he threatens to forbid her to marry unless she renounces the coffee vice. Lizzie bitterly complains—and then spreads the news that she will only accept a groom, with a marriage contract, that will permit her to brew coffee as much as she wishes.

What will happen to Lizzie and her desire to drink coffee and get married? Come to the performance for "the rest of the story... "

Off Campus
1889 Coffee House
1800 Prospect Ave
Helena, MT 59601
United States