Adoptable Dogs

Adopt a dog - Class of 2018

Our Carroll College student handlers work and live with each adoptable dog during the school year. They serve as foster caregivers for shelter dogs while they train in one of several disciplines such as service, narcotics detection, and search and rescue. Each dog was chosen from and belongs to a regional shelter.

The dogs are selected based on their personalities, capacities to learn their particular discipline, and their handlers interests. Some dogs are high-drive and energetic, others are calmer and a bit less active, most are both depending on the moment.

Though they have been trained in a particular area, they can be adopted as pet/family dogs. However, if a dog has been trained in a discipline and her new owner values that training, that is an ideal outcome.

The curriculum within Anthrozoology canine coursework teaches students how to train their dogs, then convey them to an appropriate new owner. Part of that process involves writing a biography of the dog, and screening potential adopters. Students interview potential adoptive people and families during the spring semester. Canine Graduation is in late April or early May. The students convey their partner dogs to their new family during the ceremony. 

Important information:

  • Some dogs already have an adoptive family ready to receive them when the semester concludes.
  • All of the dogs belong to their respective regional shelter.  Potential owners will go through the adoption process in place at each of those shelters.
  • Contact us - If you would like more information about the Anthrozoology program contact us at: anz@carroll.edu.
  • For information about the dogs, the student handlers' contact information accompanies each dog's bio.

Class of 2018 dog bios and photos coming soon.

Adoptable Dogs

My name is Amber Griffin and I am Sara’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at algriffin@carroll.edu. Sara is a female terrier mix around 2-years-old from the Beaverhead County Humane Society in...Read more

My name is Annika Holstrom and I am Harley’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at aholstrom@carroll.edu. Harley is a 2-year- old black lab mix from the Beaverhead County Humane...Read more

Adoption Pending
My name is Madie Slaton-Sanford and I am Trish’s foster mom this year. Please contact me at mslaton-sanford@carroll.edu with any questions!...Read more

Adopted
My name is Katie Wall and I am Sadie’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted by school email at kwall@carroll.edu and you can follow Sadie’s training...Read more

Adoption Pending
My name is Jenifer Johnson-Malek and I am Rhodey’s student handler for the year. I can be reached, by email, at jcjohnson@carroll.edu  and...Read more

Adopted
Our names are Brittany Smith and Ashley Davis and we are Paisley’s student handlers this year and our contact information is below! Paisley is a 2-year-old lab mix from the Lewis and Clark...Read more

Adopted
My name is Hannah Decker and I am Ollie’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at hdecker@carroll.edu. Oliver (Ollie) is a 1-year-old, male lab mix from the Lewis and Clark Humane...Read more

Adopted
My name is Jenna Starke and I am Moose’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at jstarke@carroll.edu. Moose is a sweet, goofy, and big 1 year old...Read more

Adoption Pending
Hi, my name is Taylor Tyree and I am Maria’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at ttyree@carroll.edu and you can follow our adventures online at...Read more

ADOPTED
My name is Taylor Sandlie and I am Maggie’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at tsandlie@carroll.edu. Maggie is an 8 month old Pomeranian Schnauzer mix from the Lewis and Clark...Read more

Adopted
My name is Manci Rasmussen and I am James’ student handler for the year. James is a 2-year-old male treeing walker coonhound mix from the Lewis & Clark Humane Society here in Helena. We do...Read more

Adoption Pending
My name is Amy Beagles and I am Henry’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at abeagles@carroll.edu. Henry is a short, sweet and cute 2...Read more

Adopted
My name is Carleigh Thurman, Dandelion’s (Dandy) student handler for the year. I can be contacted at cthurman@carroll.edu. Dandy is a 3-year-old Shepherd mix...Read more

Adoption Pending
My name is Xavier Johnson, Copper’s student handler for the 2017-2018 school year. I can be ...Read more

Adopted
My name is Amanda Melton and I am Coco’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at amelton@carroll.edu. Coco is a goofy, fun-loving dog that is equally...Read more

ADOPTED
My name is Ellery Bresler and I am Brandy’s handler for the year. You can contact me at ebresler@carroll.edu. Brandy is a 5-year-old boxer mix who came from the...Read more

Adoption Pending
My name is Molly Nelsen and I am Bud’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at mnelsen@carroll.edu with any questions you may have about Bud...Read more

ADOPTED
My name is John MacFarland and I am Tucker’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at jmacfarland@carroll.edu. Tucker is a big black lab who is...Read more