Adoptable Dogs

Adopt a dog - Class of 2018

Our Carroll College student handlers work and live with each adoptable dog during the school year. They serve as foster caregivers for shelter dogs while they train in one of several disciplines such as service, narcotics detection, and search and rescue. Each dog was chosen from and belongs to a regional shelter.

The dogs are selected based on their personalities, capacities to learn their particular discipline, and their handlers interests. Some dogs are high-drive and energetic, others are calmer and a bit less active, most are both depending on the moment.

Though they have been trained in a particular area, they can be adopted as pet/family dogs. However, if a dog has been trained in a discipline and her new owner values that training, that is an ideal outcome.

The curriculum within Anthrozoology canine coursework teaches students how to train their dogs, then convey them to an appropriate new owner. Part of that process involves writing a biography of the dog, and screening potential adopters. Students interview potential adoptive people and families during the spring semester. Canine Graduation is in late April or early May. The students convey their partner dogs to their new family during the ceremony. 

Important information:

  • Some dogs already have an adoptive family ready to receive them when the semester concludes.
  • All of the dogs belong to their respective regional shelter.  Potential owners will go through the adoption process in place at each of those shelters.
  • Contact us - If you would like more information about the Anthrozoology program contact us at: anz@carroll.edu.
  • For information about the dogs, the student handlers' contact information accompanies each dog's bio.

Class of 2018 dog bios and photos coming soon.

Adoptable Dogs

Headshot of Trish
Photo of Trish and Handler
Trish's Sideview

My name is Madie Slaton-Sanford and I am Trish’s foster mom this year. Please contact me at mslaton-sanford@carroll.edu with any questions! Trish is a female Cattle Dog Mix from the Humane Society of...Read more

Smokey's Headshot
Smokey and Student Handler
Sideview of Smokey

My name is Sydney Harris and I am Smokey’s student handler this year. I can be contacted at sfharris@carroll.edu for any questions on him. Smokey is a 1-2 year old red and white tick hound mix from Heart of...Read more

Close up of Sara
Sara with student handler
Sideview of Sarah

My name is Amber Griffin and I am Sara’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at algriffin@carroll.edu. Sara is a female terrier mix around 2-years-old from the...Read more

Sadie's Headshot
Sadie's Sideview

My name is Katie Wall and I am Sadie’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted by school email at kwall@carroll.edu and you...Read more

Rhodey's Headshot
Rhodey's Sideview
Rhodey with Student Handler

My name is Jenifer Johnson-Malek and I am Rhodey’s student handler for the year. I can be reached, by email, at jcjohnson@...Read more

Sideview of Paisley
Paisley with student handlers

Our names are Brittany Smith and Ashley Davis and we are Paisley’s student handlers this year and our contact information is below! Paisley is a 2-year-old lab mix from the...Read more

Close up of Ollie
Sideview of Ollie

My name is Hannah Decker and I am Ollie’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at hdecker@carroll.edu. Oliver (Ollie) is a 1-year-old, male lab mix from the...Read more

Close up of Moose
Moose with Student Handler
Moose's Sideview

My name is Jenna Starke and I am Moose’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at jstarke@carroll.edu. Moose is a sweet, goofy, and big 1 year old neutered lab...Read more

Close up of Maria
Maria with her student handler
Sideview of Maria

Hi, my name is Taylor Tyree and I am Maria’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at ttyree@carroll.edu and you can follow our adventures online at...Read more

Close up of Maggie
Sideview of Maggie

My name is Taylor Sandlie and I am Maggie’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at tsandlie@carroll.edu. Maggie is an 8 month old Pomeranian Schnauzer mix from...Read more

Close up of James
James with his student handler
James' Sideview

My name is Manci Rasmussen and I am James’ student handler for the year. James is a 2-year-old male treeing walker coonhound mix from the Lewis & Clark Humane Society here in...Read more

Henry- Headshot
Henry- Side

My name is Amy Beagles and I am Henry’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at abeagles@carroll.edu. Henry is a short, sweet and cute 2 year old frenchie - beagle mix. Henry comes from the Humane...Read more

Harley- Headshot
Harley-Sideview

My name is Annika Holstrom and I am Harley’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at aholstrom@gmail.com. Harley is a 2-year- old black lab mix from the Beaverhead County Humane Society. He is a fun...Read more

Dandy the Dog
Dandy with Student Handler
Dandy's Sideview

My name is Carleigh Thurman, Dandelion’s (Dandy) student handler for the year.  I can be contacted at cthurman@carroll.edu. Dandy is a 3-year-old Shepherd mix from the Lewis and Clark Humane  Society in Helena...Read more

Copper with toy
Copper- Headshot
Copper with Student Handler

My name is Xavier Johnson, Copper’s student handler for the 2017-2018 school year. I can be contacted on Facebook. Copper is a 1 year old black...Read more

Coco's Closeup
Coco with Student Handler
Coco- Side View

My name is Amanda Melton and I am Coco’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at amelton@carroll.edu. Coco is a goofy, fun-loving dog that is equally happy out on a walk with you, or snuggled up...Read more

Close up of Brandy
Brandy with Student Handler
Side View of Brandy

My name is Ellery Bresler and I am Brandy’s handler for the year. You can contact me at ebresler@carroll.edu. Brandy is a 5-year-old boxer mix who came from the Lewis and Clark Humane Society in Helena. Brandy...Read more

Close up of Bud
Bud with Student Handler
Bud from the Side View

My name is Molly Nelsen and I am Bud’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at mnelsen@carroll.edu with any questions you may have about Bud. Bud is a 2-year-old male husky mix from Lewis and Clark...Read more

Headshot of Tucker

My name is John MacFarland and I am Tucker’s student handler for the year. I can be contacted at jmacfarland@carroll.edu. Tucker is a big black lab who is very energetic and loves to play. He loves to play...Read more