Carroll Football



| more

By Amber Kuehn, Helena IR

Very few NAIA teams have had the reign of success that Carroll College has experienced in football. So it's no secret that expectations are always high in Helena this time of year. Still, the attitude remains the same: The Saints take it one game at a time.

"We do want to be the best that we can be, but we just really go week to week," said starting quarterback Mac Roche, who replaces the graduated Dakota Stonehouse under center. "Our number one goal is we're focused on Week 1 at Southern Oregon. We're not really thinking about the rest of the season."

Carroll was picked in preseason polls to win the Frontier Conference crown, a feat they've accomplished in 13 of the last 14 seasons. The Saints were also selected runner-up in the NAIA preseason poll behind defending national champion Grand View (Iowa).

Read More »

By Amber Kuehn, Helena IR

It's time for a new season of Frontier Conference football, and 2014 is going to look a bit different than it has in years past.

Gone is Dickinson State after two years as a full member in the league, as the Blue Hawks join the North Star Athletic Association. But the Frontier will still be an eight-team conference for football, with the addition of College of Idaho. The Coyotes are reinstating football after the program's 36-year absence.

Carroll was chosen by the league's coaches to finish first in the Frontier preseason poll. The Saints were picked second in the NAIA preseason poll behind defending national champion Grand View (Iowa), with fellow Frontier members Rocky Mountain College (No. 9) and Southern Oregon (22) also cracking the Top 25. Eastern Oregon also received votes.

Read More »

By JACK NOWLIN Star-Tribune staff writer

Chanler Buck would rather not be in this position.Powell’s interim head football coach was perfectly content coaching the Powell eighth-grade team and serving as a volunteer coach for the Panthers on Friday nights. But after Jim Stringer, Powell’s coach since 2003, died of a heart attack while mowing his lawn on July 18, it was the 28-year-old Buck who got the call to replace him on the sidelines.

A native of Idaho, Buck played two years at Utah State University before finishing his college career at Carroll College in Helena, Montana. Buck started at linebacker and helped lead the Saints to the 2007 NAIA national championship.

“Chanler was physically gifted, but he also had a high football IQ,” said Carroll College head coach Mike Van Diest, also a former University of Wyoming assistant coach. “Whether it was in film study or at practice Chanler was always focused and he could play any one of the three linebacker positions. It was like having another coach on the field whenever Chanler was out there.”

Read More »


Carroll College named five captains for the 2014 football season.

Center Alex Kastens, wide receiver Anthony Clarke and running back Dustin Rinker will be the Saints captains on offense. 

Defensively, Carroll will be led by captains Sean Blomquist, an All-American linebacker from Helena, and defensive lineman Dakota Amy. 

Kastens and Blomquist were also captains last year. 

Read More »

By Amber Kuehn, Helena IR

Practice begins at 3:30 p.m. today for the Carroll College football team, as the defending Frontier Conference champions open their fall camp. The Saints will then begin two-a-days on Friday with sessions at 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., with just shorts and helmets. Saturday they’ll don pads for the first time this fall.

Carroll head coach Mike Van Diest is ready to get the season going after a productive summer.

“We’ve had over 70 players here for the month of June and July,” the coach said. “It’s been great. The last couple years have been outstanding, and this time of year it’s all about getting the new freshmen and transfers in here to go with the veterans.”

Van Diest expects to have around 135 athletes in fall camp.

Read More »

Football Questionnaire 

Online Questionnaire

Interested in playing football for Carroll? Fill out this questionnaire, send it in, and let Coach Van Diest know that you're serious about playing for the Saints!

You can also download a PDF version of the questionnaire and send it in to Coach Van Diest as well.

2013 Media Guide

2013 Football