Carroll College, Helena Montana
Honors Convocation

Honors Convocation

Honors Convocation 2014

On Thursday, April 16, 2014 at 5:00pm, in the lower Campus Center, the 30th Annual Honors Convocation took place in recognition of the academic excellence of selected Carroll students. Carroll College recognized the 2013-14 students receiving academic awards and memberships in academic honoraries. Download the program


2014 Program Ceremony

ProgramOpening Remarks
Dr. Paula McNutt, Senior Vice President for Academics Affairs and Dean of the College

Fr. Marc Lenneman, Director of Campus Ministry and Chaplin

Raymond G. Hunthausen Outstanding Collegiate Citizenship Award
Ms. Rosalie Walsh, Director of Career and Testing Services

Forensics Awards
Mr. Brent Northup, Professor of Communication Studies
Director of Forensics and Communication Studies Department Chair

Sigma Theta Tau
Ms. Kathy McGuire, Associate Professor of Nursing
Ms. Cynde Watkins, Assistant Professor of Nursing

Phi Alpha Theta
Dr. Gillian Glaes, Associate Professor of History
History Department Chair

Lambda Pi Eta & Robert Hopper Memorial Communication Achievement Award
Dr. Charlotte Jones, Professor of Communication Studies

Class of 2014 Honors Scholars
Dr. Chris Fuller, Dean of Mission Integration and Effectiveness
Director of the Honors Scholars Program

Theta Alpha Kappa
Dr. Brian Matz, Associate Professor of Theology

Recognition of Excellence Award
Dr. Lynette Zuroff, Professor of Education
Education: Health, Physical, & Teacher Department Chair

Father Butko Awards in Freshman Writing 2013-2014
Dr. Kay Satre, Associate Professor of English Languages & Literature Department Chair

Psi Chi
Dr. Brad Elison, Associate Professor of Psychology
Psychology Department Chair

Alpha Kappa Delta
Dr. Elizabeth Chute, Associate Professor of Sociology
Sociology Department Chair

Sigma Beta Delta
Mr. Melvin McFetridge, Associate Professor of Business

Mathematics, Engineering, & Computer Science Awards
Dr. Phil Rose, Professor of Computer Science and Mathematics

Veteran Graduates
Ms. Brandy Keely, Veteran Services Coordinator

Manion Scholars Award
Dr. Jennifer Geiger, Associate Professor of Biology
Natural Sciences Department Chair

Green Honors Award
Dr. Grant Hokit, Professor of Biology

Sigma Tau Delta
Dr. Ron Stottlemyer, Professor of English

Phi Sigma Tau
Dr. W. Mark Smillie, Associate Professor of Philosophy
Philosophy Department Chair

Pi Sigma Alpha
Dr. William Parsons, Associate Professor of Political Science
Political Science Department Chair

Army Reserve Officers' Training Corps Awards
Maj. Dana Barnacoat, Officer In Charge, Carroll College Army ROTC

Class of 2014 Honors Graduates
Ms. Catherine Day, Associate Dean of Academics

Student Athlete Academic Honors
Mr. David Thorvilson, Head Coach, Women's Soccer
Ms. Maureen Boyle, Head Coach, Volleyball
Mr. Mike Van Diest, Head Coach, Football
Mr. Rachelle Sayers, Head Coach, Women's Basketball
Dr. Carson Cummingham, Men's Basketball
Mr. Ben MacIntyre, Head Coach, Golf
Mr. Harry Clark, Head Coach, Cross Country and Track and Field

Closing Remarks
Dr. Thomas Evans, President